|  Cultural heritage
   > To discover > Cultural heritage

The cultural heritage of Aiguines 

At the beginning of the 16th century, Aiguines began to be famous thanks to the quality of its wood turnery and the manufacture of studded bowls.

Forests in the surroundings of the village supplied box trees enough for wood turners, moreover box wood could be collected freely. During fall, box tree cutters were going in pairs in wild and steep areas of the canyon.

fabrication-boulesBox wood, turned and polished, was used to manufacture planks, mortar and pestle, cutlery and other objects.

Concerning the manufacture of studded bowls, the rounded part of box roots was collected and brought back to the turnery shops in the village. There, woodturners used saw to rough down the root, and turning machine to give a final spherical shape. Women were in charge to cover the wood bowls with special studs.

boules-petanqueSurroundings’ hawkers used to come to the village to get a stock with these objects, in order to sell them in fairs of the area or in bigger towns. This trade, prosperous untill the twenties, declined with the beginning of the steel petanque bowl.

Today, through the Museum of Woodturning and the Escoulen woodturning school, Aiguines recovered these craftsmen’ know-how.

Each year apprenticeships are regularly organized, as well as “Turned wood days” for a week in August.



The Museum of Woodturning’s website

The Escoulen woodturning school’s website

Scroll Up

|  Le patrimoine culturel
   > A découvrir > Le patrimoine culturel

Patrimoine culturel du village d’Aiguines 

 A partir du 16ème siècle Aiguines dut sa réputation à la qualité de la tournerie sur bois et à la fabrication des boules cloutées.

La végétation forestière des environs d’Aiguines fournissait du buis particulièrement favorable au travail de tournage d’autant qu’il pouvait être ramassé librement. Chaque automne, les coupeurs partaient dans des zones sauvages et dangereuses du canyon.

fabrication-boules

Le buis, tourné et poli, pouvait servir à fabriquer des pilons, des mortiers, des planches, des couverts et autres objets.

Pour la fabrication des boules cloutées, la partie affleurante et enflée de la racine du buis, était extraite et transportée à dos d’homme, jusqu’aux ateliers de tournage installés dans le village. Dans les ateliers, les tourneurs dégrossissaient la racine à la scie, puis lui donnait sa forme définitive au tour à bois. Les femmes – « les ferreuses » – les recouvraient ensuite de clous.

boules-petanque

Des colporteurs venaient s’approvisionner au village pour aller vendre ces objets jusqu’à la foire de Beaucaire. Le commerce sera florissant jusque dans les années 1920 où l’apparition de la boule de pétanque intégrale rejettera ce type de boule chez les antiquaires et les collectionneurs.

musee-tourneurs-sur-bois

Aujourd’hui, à travers le Musée des tourneurs sur bois et l’école de tournage sur bois Escoulen, Aiguines a retrouvé les gestes et le savoir-faire de ces artisans.

Chaque année, des stages d’apprentissage sont régulièrement organisés, ainsi que les « Journées du bois tourné » pendant une semaine au mois d’août.

Site du Musée des tourneurs sur bois

Site de l’école de tournage sur bois Escoulen

Scroll Up